Mama, Papa, and Pip make 3

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Priorities July 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — birdlegs02 @ 2:55 pm

This summer has been crazy busy. Work, chasing Will, keeping Joe in line – it’s hard work!

Seriously though, I have been doing a lot of soul searching these past few weeks. I have always loved my job, there was never a question when I found out that Will was going to be joining our happy little family that I would be returning to work.

Being a working mom is hard. Being a mom in general is HARD. Not a day goes by that I don’t have this cloud of guilt over my shoulder, leaving my sweet William in the care of someone else for 8+ hours a day. My summer hours are a bit out of control. This is one of the lovely things about working a salary position – 8 hours is NOT a days work. Try more like 10-12.

It is getting to the point where I need to make some serious choices. I firmly believe that the interaction that Will receives with other kids at school is beneficial, however I think there is also a lot that school can’t provide him.  I wish there was some sort of part-time option that would make it still worthwhile 😦

I just finished a book about a working mom, that was in the same predicament that I am in. She of course found her happily ever after “grey area” in her world of black and white. I find it to be a joke. Honestly, in the land of real estate costing upwards of $350,000 for a dump, how does this broad have the choice to stay home or work?  This character ended up quitting her job and starting her own business so she could spend more time with her little one, but also follow her career dreams.

I don’t think her ending was as happily ever after as it left us. It may make me a pessimist, but running your own business is a huge time sucker. She is still not going to be able to give 100% to her daughter and work.

I also would like to know how many mothers out there have really found that “balance”. Whether you are a working mom, or stay at home – we all have our challenges. Our vision that the grass is greener on the other side.

When can I relax in my green grass?

Also, William is a full-fledged walker now. He has been walking for some time, but now it is his main source of transportation. GO WILL!

 

Leave a comment