Mama, Papa, and Pip make 3

Just another WordPress.com weblog

:::insert violin playing here::: July 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — birdlegs02 @ 7:46 am

What a week. Will ended up staying home the whole week. He sounded fine with just a little cough on Thursday, so he went to school. Daycare called me at 12:30 because the poor thing developed a fever, which made him out of commission on Friday due to school rules. We were supposed to go to Appleton because Joe had two appointments, and Will seemed fine. We packed up the car and headed out.

Will typically falls asleep within 10 minutes of hitting the car seat. This trip, no dice. I tried distracting him with every possible toy, video, song – nada. This broke into full on freaking out for a good 45 minutes. We pulled off at the rest stop, did some comforting and Will took his first drink from a “bubbler”. As soon as we pulled out of the rest stop, he was dead asleep. I knew something was up, so my mom and I tried taking him to a walk-in clinic Saturday morning. Apparently they cannot treat anyone under 18 months (seems like an odd age – why 18? Wouldn’t 24 months make more sense?). They called around town to see if any pediatric office could fit him in, but of course luck was not on our side.

We ended up at the ER with no other options. I always have this huge fear that nothing will be wrong, and we wasted everyone’s time. I have no idea where that comes from – probably from this craptastic doctor that I had growing up (she was wretched).  Anywho, he ended up having a pretty bad double ear infection. Medication is always a challenge due to his amoxicillin issues, so they gave him the pneumonia dose Z-Pac. The first dose did nothing for the pain, so I had to call the ER back for them to prescribe ear drops. I am hoping that it is clearing up, and he will have another ear check mid-week.

Seriously, never a dull moment in our house! Everyone was over for turkey, and if it wasn’t Will sobbing, it was my little nephew Daniel. I am surprised that the Great Grandparent’s didn’t want to gouge their eyes out, and they were able to tolerate the screaming for as long as they did!

While we were gone, we apparently missed the Great Chicago flood of 2010. Just as we were leaving Friday, a monsoon was leaving its mark on Evanston.

And now we are back…all is quiet on the Western front. Will seems to be more like his good old self. He even went out for a stroll in the Cozy Coupe, and a trip to the park Sunday night.

I am exhausted. It has been a rough week. Thank GOD it is Monday (I think that is the first time I have ever said that!).

 

Leave a comment